Staying away from QFNs, my first Android app plus some Bluetooth

So, exams are finally over, the results are out and I scraped through. No supplements, none failed.

Over the past 2 weeks, I have learnt a valuable lesson: I cannot solder QFN packages. Out of 10 chips, I burnt 9. It’s horrible. It might be that I’m not using enough flux or maybe not enough solder but the solder will not melt below the many of the pins. One of my F550x break-out board arrived yesterday. Double sided, it fits perfectly onto a breadboard.

F550x break-out

 

With that kind of chip loss, I shall be staying away from QFNs in general from now on. The leaded packages are expensive than non-leaded, but the convenience is definitely worth it, for me.

A few weeks ago, my dad asked me to write an application that lets him send his current GPS location to his colleagues using SMS and the like. Of course, there are plenty or maybe hundreds of apps that do this already. To name a few: Viber, Whatsapp, Google Maps, Tango… Location messaging is integrated into the apps. But what if you don’t have internet and you haven’t found this function in your chatting map, or maybe, you just don’t have time to search for it. Introducing GPS Share.

7inch_2

 

With its simplistic design, with a few seconds, you can send your current GPS coordinates via SMS. With internet connection, the application finds out the address of your location and it lets you share this information through e-mails. It also lets you copy the location information to the clipboard so you may paste it into any application you want. The time it takes from opening the app to sending a SMS packed with your current location is 4 seconds. I tried it out today after parking the car. It’s great. Link to Play Store.

And lastly, Bluetooth. This time, I’m taking a break from MSP430 and learn some C2000 and Bluetooth. I’ve got CC2540 mini dev-kit and I made a break-out board for the BC417. Unfortunately, the PIO is the wrong way around. but the code works well enough. The programmer is a clone I got from goodluckbuy. Free shipping. It works beautifully. Before receiving my programmer, I used TIVA C Launchpad and flashed it with CsrUsbSpiDeviceRE TIVA by Richard Aplin. It also worked like a charm. But since I’ve got a programmer, I may just use it and reserve the TIVA for future learning.

BC417-BO board 1

 

So far, I’ve made a Blinky program and a Hello World program. Just the basics and following CSR’s very limited tutorials, but at least there is no time limit on the IDE, unlike the 30-day IAR Embedded Workbench for 8051 for TI CC2540.

2 thoughts on “Staying away from QFNs, my first Android app plus some Bluetooth

  1. Hi, I’m really interested in your thinkpad keyboard adapter project.
    Could you please contact me by e-mail? I have a couple of questions.

Leave a Reply

